UC Irvine School of Medicine Click here for the UC Irvine Home Page Click here for the School of Medicine Home Page
Quick Full People

Keirstead Wins 2010 Mathilde Solowey Lecture Award in the Neurosciences

February 10, 2010 -- UC Irvine neurobiologist Hans S. Keirstead has been named the winner of the prestigious Mathilde Solowey Lecture Award in the Neurosciences for 2010, an annual award administered by the Foundation for Advanced Education in the Sciences given to a researcher for outstanding work in the field of neuroscience.

Keirstead will travel to the National Institutes of Health's campus in Bethesda, MD., to deliver the annual award lecture on May 18, 2010.

The Mathilde Solowey Lecture Award in the Neurosciences was established in 1974 by Solowey, a microbiologist and longtime administrator at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, upon her retirement. It is intended to award a neuroscientist who is on a rising trajectory, and whose work is translational in nature. Past winners have gone on to become leaders of the neuroscience field.

Previous award recipients include:

Dr. Steven E. Hyman, former director of the National Institute of Mental Health and provost of Harvard University, a leading authority on how internal and external stimuli affect the brain and behavior.

Dr. Dennis Choi, director of Emory University's Neuroscience Center, who is renowned for his groundbreaking research on brain and spinal cord injury and for his broad knowledge and insight into the mind-brain relationship and the connections between the neurosciences and other disciplines.

Dr. Fred Gage, professor at Salk University and former president of the Society for Neuroscience, who discovered that the human brain produces new brain cells in adulthood.

Dr. Gerald D. Fischbach, executive vice president for health and biological sciences and dean of the faculty of medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University, who cloned ARIA, a protein that allows muscle cells to form receptors for the neurotransmitter acetylcholine and enabling communication with nerve cells.